What is The State of Arizona Board of Chiropractic Examiners?
Regulation exists to protect the public’s health, safety and welfare. In the State of Arizona, statute provides for the Board of Chiropractic Examiners to handle the licensing and regulation for the chiropractic profession.
- To investigate complaints.
- To oversee the general application of the laws governing the practice of chiropractic.
- To update and develop regulations.
- To address scope of practice and to better define both appropriate conduct by professionals and consumer expectations.
- To continually review required credentials for doctors to practice safely, effectively and ethically.
- To apply appropriate disciplinary action to doctors or chiropractic that break, the public trust through a violation of law.
- To function in the global regulatory community to assist other professions or jurisdictions affected by chiropractic.
The Governor appoints the five members of the State of Arizona, Board of Chiropractic Examiners. The Board is comprised of three doctors of chiropractic and two public members. The Board employs staff to carryout administrative, licensing and investigative functions of the agency. An assistant attorney general provides legal counsel to the Board and staff members.
The Board generally meets monthly. All Board meetings are open to the public.
What credentials are required to be licensed to practice chiropractic in the State of Arizona?
- Be a graduate of an accredited chiropractic college.
- Have a certificate of attainment for Parts I, II, and passed Parts III and IV with a minimum score of 375, administered by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners.
- Complete a criminal background investigation.
- Demonstrate understanding of state law by passing the jurisprudence examination.
- Be a person of good character and reputation.
- Be physically and mentally able to practice chiropractic skillfully and safely.
Which states does the Arizona Board Currently have Reciprocity with?
Arizona has established a reciprocal agreement with Alaska, California, Colorado, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, and Ohio.
What is required for the Physical Medicine Modalities and Therapeutic Procedures certificate?
- 120 hours of coursework
- a passing score of 375 or higher on the NBCE Physiotherapy Examination
What is required for the Acupuncture certificate?
- 100 hours of coursework
- a passing score of 375 or higher on the NBCE Acupuncture Examination
What can the public expect from a doctor of chiropractic?
- A thorough physical examination to determine conditions that may be appropriate for chiropractic care.
- To be referred to another health care provider for conditions not appropriate for chiropractic care.
- To understand the type of care to be administered, and what results may be expected.
- Discussion with the doctor as the care continues, to evaluate treatment, effectiveness, and projected duration.
- Financial arrangements are clearly understood.
- Appropriate, ethical care delivered in confidence, with respect for privacy and dignity.
What happens if a doctor violates the public trust?
An essential part of the Board of Chiropractic Examiners' responsibility is to discipline the small fraction of doctors who violate the laws governing the practice of chiropractic.
Complaints are investigated thoroughly. If the investigation of a complaint provides enough evidence to demonstrate a possible violation of the law, a formal interview or formal hearing, may be conducted to determine the facts and the severity of the offense. If a doctor is found to have violated a law or through a consent agreement, the Board may:
- Issue an order to cease and desist.
- Issue an order of Concern.
- Issue an order of Censure.
- Impose a fine.
- Set terms of probation.
- Refuse to renew a license.
- Suspend a license.
- Revoke a license.
How can you tell if a doctor has been disciplined?
The public can contact the Board office at (602) 864-5088 or use our Find a Chiropractor
to determine the status of a doctor's license. The status will reveal if the doctor's license is active and in good standing, suspended, revoked or otherwise limited. In addition, the staff can report on the doctor's complaint and disciplinary history. The public can view the doctor's public records at the Board office.
Does the Board represent me if I file a complaint against a Chiropractor?
The Board does not represent you and cannot assist you in resolving ongoing legal problems. You may consult with your own lawyer to advise you of your rights or potential legal recourse against the Doctor of Chiropractic.
Will I get the documents and papers back that I send to the State Board?
Anything you send to this office becomes confidential and a part of the complaint file and cannot be returned to you in accordance with A.R.S. §32-929(C). If you want to keep a copy of any documentation you provide to the State of Arizona Board of Chiropractic Examiners, it is advisable to have copies made prior to sending it to the Board.
How long are Doctors of Chiropractic required to keep patient records including X-Rays?
Doctors of Chiropractic are required to maintain patient records including X-Rays for 6 years past the last treatment day for adults over the age of 18. For Minors (under the age of 18) records including X-Rays are to be maintained for 6 years from the patient's 18th Birthday.
What can a Chiropractic Physician charge for patient records?
A Chiropractic Physician must provide the patient record upon written request at no cost to the patient.
What is a Chiropractic Physician required to do when they close their office?
Chiropractic Physicians are required to comply with A.R.S.§32-3211 and develop a protocol for the secure storage, transfer, and access of patient records even after an office closes. When a chiropractic office is closed the Chiropractic Physician is required to complete the developed protocol. This may include notification of patients, notification to the Board (Notification of Records Transfer Form), sending of patient files to another physician, etc. Please note in accordance with A.R.S.§32-924 and A.A.C R4-7-902 (7) Chiropractic Physicians are still responsible for the maintenance and access to patient files even after a clinic closes (Please see above). If you have any questions about this process you may wish to contact an attorney for a legal opinion.
when do I need to complete my record-keeping course to renew my license?
Record-Keeping courses must be completed in the even-numbered calendar years. To renew your 2017 license, you will need to take 2 hours of record-keeping before December 31, 2016.
Are the 2 hours of record keeping in addition to the 12 regularly required?
No, you will need to complete 10 hours of approved subject matter with 2 hours in record keeping for a total of 12 hours.
What courses can I take?
The Board provides a list of approved courses, many of which are offered online. It can be found here under the Board Approved Continuing Education Course List.
When does a Doctor of Chiropractic have to notify the Board that a Chiropractic Assistant has been hired?
Doctors of Chiropractic must notify the Board within 7 calendar days of hiring a Chiropractic Assistant using the Notice of Chiropractic Assistant Employment form.
What happens if someone was promoted from a front desk person to a Chiropractic Assistant?
The Board must be notified within 7 calendar days of the CA working with patients using the Notice of Chiropractic Assistant Employment form. The form requests their initial hire date, this date means the date the CA began to work with patients as a CA, not the hire date as a front desk worker.
How long does a Chiropractic Assistant have to begin training?
A CA must begin a Board-approved training course within three months of the CA's hire date.
When does Chiropractic Assistant have to be Registered?
The CA must be registered upon completion of a Board-approved course using the Chiropractic Assistant Registration form.
A previously registered Chiropractic Assistant has transferred into a new office with a new supervising Chiropractic Physician; do they need to be Re-Registered?
The CA must transfer the registration to the current supervising Chiropractic Physician using the Chiropractic Assistant Transfer form.
Do Licensed Massage Therapists (LMT) have to be registered as Chiropractic Assistants?
An LMT must register as a chiropractic assistant if they are performing any of the duties associated with the Scope of a Chiropractic Assistant (A.A.C. R4-7-1103) or if the Chiropractic Physician is billing for the LMT's services as part of the chiropractic treatment.
I am a member of the public, can I own a Chiropractic Office?
Yes, ARS § 32-943 states that members of the public may own an office that provides Chiropractic Services. These offices are termed Business Entities and must register with the Board using the Business Entity Registration application.
I am an Arizona licensed health care provider, and I own a Chiropractic office. Do I need to register my Chiropractic Office with the Board in accordance with ARS § 32-934?
No, as a licensed health care provider you are not required to register the Chiropractic office as a Business Entity in accordance with ARS § 32-934 (K)
Mobile and Home Practice
Can a chiropractor work out of their home or in a mobile practice?
The Board's only restrictions on locations of practice are that you display your ornamental license (A.A.C. R4-7-501) and provide a primary mailing address and a practice address to the Board (A.R.S.§32-923).