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About Practice in Arizona 

 
The Arizona State Board of Chiropractic Examiners welcomes your interest in applying for licensure in the State of 
Arizona. The Board currently licenses approximately 2600 chiropractic physicians.  In 2012, the ratio of chiropractic 
licenses to population was 1 / 2764 (FCLB). 
 
In Arizona, a chiropractic license allows you to adjust both the spine and extremities.  With a chiropractic license, 
you may take or order x-rays and diagnostic images.  You may also perform clinical laboratory procedures that are 
limited to urine collection, finger prick or venipuncture in order to determine the propriety of a regimen of 
chiropractic care or to form a basis for patient referral to other licensed health care professionals, or both.  You 
cannot practice obstetrics, perform surgery or prescribe or administer medication or drugs. 
 
An Arizona chiropractic license does not allow you to perform physical medicine modalities and therapeutic 
procedures (PMMTP) or acupuncture. Both are considered specialties. To practice PMMTP or acupuncture in this 
state, you must apply for and receive a certificate in the specialty from this Board. The application requirements 
for each specialty are included in this brochure.   
 
Please read this brochure carefully before requesting an application packet and beginning the licensing process, as 
the Board cannot refund fees, even if you are not eligible for licensure. To obtain an application packet, you may 
submit a written request or the order form on the last page of this brochure. The Board charges $10.00 for each 
application. Please be sure to submit a check or money order for the appropriate amount with your request. You 
may make your check or money order payable to the Arizona Chiropractic Board. Within a week of receiving your 
request and payment, Board staff will mail you an application packet and law book. 
 

How long does it take to get an Arizona license? 
 
By law, the Board must render a licensing decision within 120 business days of receiving of a complete application 
package. However, the licensing process generally takes less time, running two to three months from start to 
finish. There is no way to expedite the licensing process.   
 

What does it cost to be licensed in Arizona? 
 
It depends on whether you are applying for licensure or licensure with specialty certifications, as there are 
application and issuance fees for both licensure and certification. The fees are listed below.   
 
1. License Application & Fingerprint Fee:  $272.00   
2. PMMTP Application Fee:    $100.00   
3. Acupuncture Application Fee:   $100.00   
4. License Issuance Fee:    $100.00   
5. PMMTP Certification Fee:    $100.00   
6. Acupuncture Certification Fee:   $100.00   
 
Application fees must be submitted with your application for licensure and/or certification. They are not 
refundable, even if you do not qualify for licensure or certification. Issuance and certification fees must be 
submitted to have your license and/or certificate issued to you. Issuance and certification fees cannot be paid until 
the Board has approved your application. You cannot prepay the license issuance and certification fees.   



How do I become licensed? 
 
There are two methods by which you may become licensed in Arizona - examination or reciprocity.  You must meet 
all of the eligibility requirements in the method that fits your situation. The Board cannot waive any of the 
requirements. 
 
Licensure by Examination  
 
In addition to graduation from an accredited chiropractic college with a doctor of chiropractic degree, licensure by 
examination requires successful completion of all four parts of the examination given by the National Board of 
Chiropractic Examiners. The eligibility and application requirements for licensure by examination follow. 
 
Eligibility Requirements: 
 
1. Graduation from an accredited chiropractic college with doctor of chiropractic degree. 
2. NBCE Parts I – IV, with a score of 375 or better on III and IV. 
3. Being physically and mentally able to practice chiropractic skillfully and safely. 
4. Being a person of good character and reputation. 
5. Passing the Arizona jurisprudence examination with a score of 75% or better. 
 
Application Requirements: 
 
1. Completed, signed and notarized application. 
2. Completed and signed Arizona Statement of Citizenship or Alien Status form provided with the 

application. 
3. A copy of one or more of the documents from the “Evidence of U.S. Citizenship, U.S. National Status, or 

Alien Status” list provided with the application. 
4. Explanations of any disclosed arrests, convictions or disciplinary actions. 
5. Two identical, individual, passport-type photographs showing your full face. 
6. A completed fingerprint card (provided with the application). 
7. A check or money order for the application fees. 
8. Official chiropractic college transcripts, showing graduation, sent directly to the Board from the college.  
9. Transcript for NBCE Parts I – IV sent directly to the Board from the NBCE. 
10. Verifications of licensure in good standing from each of the jurisdictions in which you hold or have held a 

license, sent directly to the Board from the issuing agency. 
11. Police and/or court documents from any disclosed arrest and/or conviction, sent directly to the Board 

from the related agencies. 
 
To be scheduled to take the jurisprudence examination, you must have a complete application on file with the 
Board one month prior to the examination date. Examination and deadline dates are provided with the 
application. 
 
Licensure by Reciprocity 
 
Arizona has reciprocity with four states: Alaska, Colorado, Louisiana and Missouri. To be eligible for reciprocity, 
your license must be ACTIVE in the reciprocity state, you must have passed the licensing exam in the reciprocity 
state and you must have practiced chiropractic continuously for three (3) of the last five (5) years. 
 
To qualify for licensure by reciprocity, you must also have passed NBCE Parts I - III or NBCE Parts I – II and SPEC, 
regardless of when you graduated or how long you have practiced.  Arizona does not have a grandfather clause 
and cannot waive any of the reciprocity requirements.  The eligibility and application requirements for licensure by 
reciprocity follow. 



Eligibility Requirements: 
 

1. Graduation from an accredited chiropractic college with a doctor of chiropractic degree. 
2. NBCE Parts I – III or NBCE Parts I & II and SPEC. 
3. An active, current license, obtained by examination, in Alaska, Colorado, Louisiana, or Missouri.  
4. Continuous chiropractic practice for not less than three (3) of the past five (5) years immediately 

preceding the application. 
5. No previous failing score on the Arizona licensing examination. 
6. No formal disciplinary action taken against any of your licenses. 
7.  Being a person of good character and reputation. 
8. Being physically and mentally able to practice chiropractic skillfully and safely. 
9. Passing the Arizona jurisprudence examination with a score of 75% or better. 
 
Application Requirements: 
 
1. Completed, signed and notarized application. 
2. Completed and signed Arizona Statement of Citizenship or Alien Status form provided with the 

application. 
3. A copy of one or more of the documents from the “Evidence of U.S. Citizenship, U.S. National Status, or 

Alien Status” list provided with the application. 
4. Completed, signed and notarized Active Practice Affidavit. 
5. Explanations of any disclosed arrests, convictions or disciplinary actions. 
6. Two identical, individual, passport-type photographs showing your full face. 
7. A completed fingerprint card (provided with the application). 
8. A check or money order for the application fees. 
9. Official chiropractic college transcripts sent directly to the Board from the college.   
10. Transcript for NBCE Parts I – III or NBCE Parts I & II and SPEC  sent directly to the Board from the NBCE. 
11. Verifications of licensure in good standing from each of the jurisdictions in which you hold or have held a 

license, sent directly to the Board from the issuing agency. The verification from the reciprocity state must 
indicate that your license was issued by examination. 

12. Police and/or court documents from any disclosed arrest and/or conviction, sent directly to the Board 
from the related agencies. 

 
To be scheduled to take the jurisprudence examination, you must have a complete application on file with the 
Board one month prior to the examination date. Examination and deadline dates are provided with the 
application. 

 
How do I become certified in PMMTP or Acupuncture? 
 
You may apply for certification in PMMTP or acupuncture with your application for licensure or after you have 
become licensed. The eligibility and application requirements for each specialty follow. 
 
PMMTP Certification Eligibility Requirements: 

 
1.  Application for licensure or current Arizona chiropractic license. 
2. 120 hours of study in physical medicine modalities and therapeutic procedures at an accredited 

chiropractic college or postgraduate study with an instructor on the active or postgraduate staff of an 
accredited chiropractic college. 

3. NBCE Physiotherapy Examination score of 375 or better. 
 
PMMTP Certification Application Requirements: 
 
1. A complete application for licensure with certification indicated or a complete specialty certification 

application. 
2. A check or money order for the application fee.  



3. Official transcripts demonstrating successful completion of 120 hours of coursework in physical medicine 
modalities and therapeutic procedures sent directly to the Board from the college. 

4. Official NBCE transcript showing a score of 375 or better on the physiotherapy exam, sent directly from 
the NBCE. 

 
Once your application is complete, Board staff will forward it to the Board for their consideration. If the Board 
approves your application, you must submit the $100.00 issuance fee to have the certificate issued to you. 

 
Acupuncture Certification Eligibility Requirements: 

 
1.  Application for licensure or current Arizona chiropractic license. 
2. 100 hours of study in acupuncture at an accredited chiropractic college or postgraduate study with an 

instructor on the active or postgraduate staff of an accredited chiropractic college. 
3. NBCE Acupuncture Examination score of 375 or better. 
 
Acupuncture Certification Application Requirements: 
 
1. A complete application for licensure with certification indicated or complete specialty certification 

application. 
2. A check or money order for the application fee.  
3. Official transcripts demonstrating successful completion of 100 hours of coursework in acupuncture sent 

directly to the Board from the college. 
4. Official NBCE transcript showing a score of 375 or better on the acupuncture exam, sent directly from the 

NBCE. 
 
Once your application is complete, Board staff will forward it to the Board for their consideration. If the Board 
approves your application, you must submit the $100.00 issuance fee to have the certificate issued to you. 
 

How do I request an application? 
 
To request an application, complete and submit the following order form with a check or money order for the 
appropriate amount to:  
 
Arizona State Board of Chiropractic Examiners 
5060 North 19

th
 Avenue, Suite 416 

Phoenix, Arizona 85015-3210 
 

                
 
PLEASE SEND ME:  
 
 Application for Licensure by Examination  ($10.00 each, includes jurisprudence book)  
 
 Application for Licensure by Reciprocity  ($10.00 each, includes jurisprudence book)  
 
 
PLEASE SEND IT TO: 
 
Name:             

 
Street Address:            

 
City/State/Zip:            

 
Phone Number:       
 


